My last post was in August…that makes sense.

So I posted this on Facebook this morning:

I knew going into this year it was going to be tough and different for our family, but I never expected it to be this hard. Being a Coach’s Wife needs to have its own sub-category of marriage counseling. Not only do we get to deal with husbands being away or focused completely on something else all the time. We get to deal with kids who are missing their dads, parents who think their kids are gods, people who think they know more about the football team than anyone else, traditions that don’t make sense, “fans” in the stand that could care less who you are married to and let everyone know it with their words of “wisdom”, a non-existent extra pair of hands yet their opinion/advice is still needed…but we get to have a hundred extra kids that we care about and a group of women all going through the same things…I don’t know where I’m going with this, maybe it’s hormones but I do know this life is tough. So if you see me for the next couple of months be nice, don’t talk football and maybe give me a hug. Hopefully I’ll adjust soon. The good thing is that he loves what he’s doing, and that matters the most.

It was a rant at best, but it turned out to be an internet hug from every like and comment. Which there were a lot of both, which I think is interesting considering it was just a big gripe-fest…those type of posts usually make it to a buzzfeed list about “The types of FB posts everyone hates”… I didn’t realize how many of my friends (that aren’t necessarily in my circle) are coach’s wives…I mean there were a ton. I don’t know if that makes me feel better about anything, but it makes me realize that my “troubles” aren’t new or original and definitely not the end of the world.

It probably doesn’t help that I’m pregnant, hence the hormones mention. My last post was in August. We haven’t stopped going since then. What I didn’t expect about this whole new world was that my life would need to “end” to keep up with my family. There are no hobbies or adultish activities…a lot of people say that you need those things to keep a balance, but I just don’t see how a person can make that work. Maybe the wives saying that do not have small children. I’m sure that makes a difference.

Well we still have half a season to go. Wish us luck. Luck that I will stay sane and the boys will win.

Leave a Reply

